About Us

Risk Management Framework

About NAIF Finance

Application Process

Guidance on the Format of an Investment Proposal

Written Notification from Northern jurisdictions

Media and Publications

Contact Us

The NAIF is governed by a Board of Directors with extensive experience and expertise in northern Australia across a range of sectors, including infrastructure, government, finance, construction and law.

Avatar Image Mr Khory McCormick

Chair (Queensland)

Mr McCormick is a legal practitioner having previously been a senior partner at a major Australia law firm.
He has almost 40 years’ experience across infrastructure, resource and energy, construction, transportation in both the public and private sector.

He is a foundation Director of NAIF.

Consistently peer ranked over a number of years as a leading lawyer for:
· Alternative Dispute Resolution
· Bet-the-Company litigation
· Government Practices
· International Arbitration
· Litigation; and
· Natural Resources,

he has been the recipient of a number of awards including a Doctorate of the University (Griffith University). He is Professor of Strategic Law at Griffith University and in recent years has been a delegate of Australia at UNCITRAL Working Group II.

Mr McCormick serves on a number of boards including Vice president, Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration and Deputy Chair Singapore International Dispute Resolution Academy and previously held senior board positions including in the electricity distribution and retail space (ENERGEX group) and as Chair of Greencross (Australia).

Avatar Image Mr Justin Mannolini

Director (Western Australia)

Mr Mannolini is a lawyer, company director and former investment banker with extensive expertise in mergers and acquisitions, equity capital markets transactions and corporate governance advice to public, private and government entities. He has over 20 years of experience in the legal and financial sectors, including as an executive director of a major Australian investment bank, and is currently a partner in one of Australia’s largest independent law firms.

He also serves with a number of professional and community organisations, including as a member of the Law School Advisory Board at Curtin University and Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Western Australia Museum Foundation.

Mr Mannolini is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and a Senior Fellow of FINSIA.

Avatar Image Mr Barry Coulter

Director (Northern Territory)

Mr Coulter is a former member of the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, serving for 16 years. During this time he served as Deputy Chief Minister and in a range of portfolios in the Northern Territory Government, including as Treasurer. One significant achievement during this time was the Alice Springs to Darwin Railway Project, spearheaded by Mr Coulter.

He has over 35 years’ experience in the infrastructure sector, currently serving as a director of Northern Territory Airports Pty Ltd, and was previously Chairman of Darwin Port Authority, Chairman of Airnorth and Executive Chairman of Sherwin Iron Ore Limited.

Avatar Image Mr Bill Shannon

Director (Queensland)

Mr Shannon is a former mayor of Cassowary Coast Regional Council in far north Queensland, serving from 2008 until 2016. He is an economist and chartered accountant, company director and farmer. Mr Shannon is Deputy Chair of Regional Development Australia Far North Queensland & Torres Strait. He is also a former director of Advance Cairns and member of the Governance Institute of Australia and as a result has extensive experience working in and advocating for northern Australia.

Avatar Image Ms Karla Way-McPhail

Director (Queensland)

Ms Way-McPhail is Chief Executive Officer of a number of northern Australian mining and training firms, bringing extensive experience in operations and business. She also brings extensive board experience, having served on the boards of the Resources Industry Council Central Queensland and the Capricornia Chamber of Commerce.

In 2012, Ms Way-McPhail was the recipient of the prestigious Hudson Private and Corporate Award at the Telstra Queensland Business Women’s Awards. She is currently Patron of the Mining Womens Support Group.

Avatar Image Mr Ross Rolfe

Director (Queensland)

Mr Rolfe has broad experience in the energy and infrastructure sectors in senior management, senior government and strategic roles.

He is currently CEO of Infigen Energy and Chair of the North Queensland Airport Group.

He has also previously held Director General positions at a range of Queensland Government Departments, including Premier and Cabinet, State Development and Trade and the Department of Environment and Heritage, as well as the position of Co-ordinator General. He was also Chief executive of Stanwell Corporation and Alinta Energy as well as Managing Director of Resources Infrastructure at Lend Lease. He is also a former member of the Infrastructure Australia board and council , Chairman of CS Energy, Director of Thiess Ltd. Director of CMI Ltd, Chairman WDS Ltd, Director of Evans & Peck, Director Institute of Molecular Bioscience, Member of UQ Senate and Member of the QUT Council, Director of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia.